My Go-To Breakfasts

They say breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and I 100% back that. It kick-starts your metabolism allowing your body to easily digest food for the rest of the day and gives you the energy to go about your day with your usual swagger. I’m the type of person who likes to change things up quite regularly, I get bored very easily especially when it comes to repeating foods. Therefore, I have a small selection of my favourite breaky’s that I change between each day. This means I’m not thrashing a certain food and end up never wanting to see the sight of it again… Each is an easy combination of ingredients that are great to fuel your body and leave you feeling satisfied until 12pm comes around. If you find you’re getting sick of your usual breaky routine, try these to change it up!

Porridge

I know what your probably thinking.. Porridge is pretty average. But stop right there! You can add so many different ingredients to porridge to make it tastier and better for you then what it already is. My two favourite combos would have to be porridge with warmed berries and nut mix, or banana, cinnamon and chia seeds. You can even mix in peanut butter or cacao nibs! It’s probably one of the most filling and beneficial breakys you can feed yourself, and just like the rest, it’s a piece of cake (I wish) to whip up.

IMG_7478

Vegemite + Avo on Rye Toast

What a weird combo you might say, but don’t judge until you try it. If you’re an avocado crazed fan like myself, and you also enjoy the salty taste of a lil’ vegemite spread, then I can assure you your tastebuds will know what heaven feels like after you combine these two. I choose to have this on dark rye bread as it is good for digestion and leaves you feeling fuller for longer. I also use ‘Nuttalex’ over butter as a dairy free option. Deeeeeeelicious!

IMG_7501.JPG

Homemade Granola

Granola is such a healthy breakfast meal, especially if you make it yourself. You are able to cut the crap that store brought brands might add in, such as sugars and preservatives. There are hundreds of granola recipes you can access online or in cook books, and most of them are fairly easy to whip up. I do enjoy my cooking, but you won’t find me slaving over the kitchen stove for anything longer then about an hour. I like things that are quick and simple, so if your anything like me then here’s your best bet…

Cacao & Puffed Quinoa Granola

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup (25g) raw cacao powder
  • ¼ cup (60ml) maple syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 2 cups (280g) hazelnuts, roughly chopped
  • 3 ½ cups (105g) puffed quinoa
  • 1 cup (130g) slivered pistachios
  • ¼ cup (45g) black chia seeds
  • 1 cup (75g) shredded coconut

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180C and line tray with baking paper.
  • In a small saucepan, combine cacao, maple syrup, vanilla extract and water over low heat.
  • Wisk for about 2 – 3 minutes or until warmed through and the cacao has dissolved. Pour into large mixing bowl.
  • Add the hazelnuts, quinoa, pistachios and chia. Mix well to coat.
  • Spread over the baking tray and cook for 25 minutes, stir halfway.
  • Sprinkle coconut over the top and cook for a further 5 minutes or until crisp and golden.

This recipe is curtesy of the cooking goddess Donna Hay and her recipe book ‘Light + Fresh’ issue 4. I can highly recommend all the ‘Light + Fresh’ cook book range, they are chock full of amazing recipes and I am in love with the photography. This granola keeps for about two weeks in an air tight container. I enjoy it best served with a dollop of vanilla yoghurt, sliced banana and blueberries.

IMG_7500.JPG

Peanut Butter, Banana + Cinnamon on Rye Toast

This combo is extra filling and extra tasty. On toasted dark rye bread I load up with a crunchy peanut butter spread, slices of fresh banana, a pinch of cinnamon sugar plus a light sprinkle of chia seeds for some of dat omega-3 goodness. It’s a simple breaky if you have the ingredients on hand, and except for the banana, they keep for ages. It’s a good choice if your feeling something on the sweater side, but don’t want to deal with the guilt afterwards!

IMG_7430

The Standard Smavo (Smashed Avocado)

When I first became obsessed with smavo, I was simply too lazy to make it myself. I just assumed there was too much effort involved especially for breakfast when you’re generally needing to be somewhere, and for some, already running late. This was until I actually tried it one day, and found it was a whole lot easier then I thought. I create my smavo using half an avocado smashed together with sliced cherry tomatoes, feta cheese and a squeeze of lemon juice spread over two slices of rye bread with salt and pepper to top. It’s a great breaky idea if you feel like treating yourself to something a little special.

IMG_7515.JPG

Chia Pudding

Chia puddings consist mainly of chia seeds (surprise!), which are great for your health. You can enjoy these as an easy and ready-made breaky, or a slightly sweeter but guilt free dessert. There are plenty of recipes online to try out and find your favourite. The main gist of things is to mix 1 cup of your favourite type of milk with ¼ cup chia seeds. After it thickens and the chia seeds start expanding, it is ready to pour in jars and set in the fridge over night. In addition to this you could also add a berry mixture, peanut butter, cacao nibs, mango, nut mix or anything else you wish to make your pudding a tad tastier or a bit on the sweet side. The chia mix keeps for up to four days in the fridge, making them such a great grab-and-go morning treat.

IMG_7048.JPG

Breaky Tip: Basically just always have avocados in your fridge.

Leave a Reply

